By Professional Bodies and the AoEC

Ready to become a fully qualified accredited executive or team coach?

After completing and graduating from one of the AoEC’s AC, EMCC and ICF accredited coach training programmes, you are on your way to becoming a fully qualified accredited executive or team coach.

Offering new graduates accreditation with the AoEC for one year, we can also further support you in choosing the accrediting body which best suits you and your specific needs going forward. Graduates fulfil a number of education requirements when completing our diploma training programmes, covering core coaching competencies and leading to full accreditation.

Why is accredited coach training important?

With an estimated 89% of coaches attending accredited or approved coach-specific training through an independent provider or university, it is becoming abundantly clear that credibility is vital to coach practitioners. Not only important to individual coaches, professional certification is also a key consideration for organisations, with a reported 83% of coaching clients expecting their coach to hold a recognised credential such as ICF accreditation.

As a coach, you will be expected to gain high quality coach training, in order to be able to apply to become a qualified accredited coach with all of the industry’s leading bodies including the Association for Coaching (AC), European Mentoring & Coaching Council (EMCC) and the International Coaching Federation (ICF). This is why the importance of undertaking an accredited training programme to work in the profession cannot be overstated.

International Coaching Federation (ICF)

The ICF has three levels of individual accreditation and credentialing:

1. ACC (Associate Certified Coach)

2. PCC (Professional Certified Coach)

3. MCC (Master Certified Coach)

The AoEC is recognised by the ICF as a Level 1 and  Level 2 ICF Accredited Coaching Education Provider.

Association for Coaching (AC)

The AC has four levels of individual accreditation:

1. Foundation Executive Coach

2. Executive Coach

3. Professional Executive Coach

4. Master Executive Coach

Our Practitioner Diploma in Executive Coaching has an Accredited Award in Coach Training status with the AC.

European Mentoring and Coaching Council (EMCC)

The EMCC has four levels of individual accreditation:

1. Foundation

2. Practitioner

3. Senior Practitioner

4. Master Practitioner

Our Practitioner Diploma in Executive Coaching and Advanced Practitioner Diploma in Executive Coaching are both EMCC Global Quality Award (EQA) accredited. Our Systemic Team Coaching Diploma is EMCC Global Team Coaching Quality Award (TCQA) accredited.

Underlining the quality and rigour of your training, credentialing also demonstrates your commitment to best practice and gives reassurance to the client that you adhere to high standards. Those who hold a coaching accreditation and qualification which is validated by one of the professional bodies typically receive more clients, who pay higher fees and make greater annual revenue from coaching compared to their credential-less counterparts.

As well as offering you a route to AC, EMCC or ICF accreditation with a range of programmes designed to take you from beginner or semi-experienced through to advanced, we have also put together a handy accreditation guide below, to help you to identify the main executive coach training accrediting bodies and which coaching certification may be right for you.

You can also find out more about getting started in executive coaching below: